Tips for spinal cord slices with dorsal roots attached?

Hi everyone! I’m relatively new to the pain field and this has been an amazing resource for getting acquainted with techniques, papers, etc!

So far, I can prepare good transverse spinal cord slices for patching but I’ve been struggling with getting slices with intact dorsal roots/DRGs for suction electrode stimulation. Does anyone have any tips for getting slices with intact roots?

I mostly cut slices embedded in LMP agarose but getting roots this way seems to be up to luck and most of the time they’re short or mangled rootlets. I’ve also tried propping the cord up against an agarose block without embedding but in my hands the cord moves around a lot and it’s hard to “hold” the roots above or below the blade as it’s cutting. I’ve tried parasagittal slicing a few times with no success.

Any tips/tricks/help would be great!

Hi @james_maks
Thanks for your question and joining the forum and for your kind words. I’m so glad it is helpful to you. Please tell your colleagues to check out this site if they’re also in pain research.

I’m going to call in some folks who might have an answer for you:
@MGradwell @gcorder @liz @tberta @marvizon @alex_naka @cedric.peirs

Good luck! Keep us posted.

I have a small amount of experience with this preparation - played around with it but never quite got it working satisfactorily (so there’s surely someone on this forum better qualified to answer).

I found things worked best when I embedded in LMP agarose. In the moments during and immediately after embedding, you can gently manipulate the roots to be parallel to the cutting plane - but you have to be quick to avoid making a mess of the agarose. Also pays to be very attentive to the z-axis - sometimes it makes sense to shave off some throwaway slices in order to line up a good slice that has an entire root attached.

1 Like

Hi @james_maks, welcome to the spinal cord/pain field - hope you’re enjoying it!