FACS spinal cord microglia

Hi all,

Wondering if anyone has had experience isolating microglia from spinal cord tissue? I’ve tried various protocols (Dounce homogenization and enzymatic digestion) with relatively low yield. Looking to do RNA seq afterwards and am having too low of a yield to do so. I gate with CD45 mid/CD11b+/CX3CR1. Any help on this is greatly appreciated! Of course these protocols works beautifully in brain, way less successful in spinal cord.

@shantan

I’ll preface this by saying I’m not a microglia expert, but I work with spinal cord dissociation quite a bit. Hopefully some microglia experts like @esypek can chime in.

Sounds like you’ve been following the standard protocols. Spinal cord is definitely harder in most ways compared to brain, largely, IMO, because the large amount of axon and myelin. Dissociating neurons from spinal cord is very difficult too. This is why I use nuclei for nearly all my genomics work where I need to get some cellular RNA out. Although there are reasons to not do that as well.

I’m sure you’ve seen this paper, but in case you haven’t:

And here, Haring et al. show an optimized protocol for spinal cord dissociation with the targeting of neuronal cells, but likely will help for microglia:

Marques et al. isolated oligodendrocytes from spinal cord for single cell:

Some questions:

1. How many microglia do you need?

You say

Looking to do RNA seq afterwards and am having too low of a yield to do so